Egg-celent Egg Salad

Sorry, I couldn’t resist the egg pun.  I’m not really an egg person in general.  I’ll eat scrambled eggs if they’re cooked perfectly or if they’re not, smothered in ketchup.  Otherwise I never eat eggs on their own.  So I always assumed I wouldn’t like egg salad.  When I came across this recipe in a blog it just looked so pretty and yellow I had to give it a try, so I bookmarked it in my ever-expanding list of recipes to try.  When Kevin decided he wanted to randomly hard-boil some eggs one day, it gave me the perfect opportunity to try the egg salad.  I had him boil me a few more eggs and we were ready to go.  At first when I tasted it, I wasn’t too impressed and it kind of tasted like Old Bay.  If you’re into Old Bay, you could probably eat this by the handful.  (A handful of egg salad? Very classy.)  But, after I put it on some toast with some sliced onions and lettuce, it was really delicious and filling.  Next time I make this I will add chopped celery and onion to give it some texture variation.  I only had enough for one sandwich and Kevin ate the rest the next day by spoonful, so I guess he gives it two thumbs up.

First, you peel the eggs and separate the yolks from the whites.  Mash the yolks in a small bowl and mince the whites separately.

Combine the diced whites with the mashed yolks. I suppose you can just dice the whites and yolks at the same time but where’s the fun in that?  Plus the thought of biting into a large piece of yolk kind of makes me gag.

In a separate bowl, combine the mayonnaise, pepper, curry powder (any kind will do), mustard, and salt.  I didn’t have dijon mustard that the recipe originally called for so I used dry mustard reconstituted with water.  I think this flavor in combination with the pepper is what gave it its old bay-ish flavor.

Pour the wet ingredients into the eggs and stir until combined.  If you find it is still loose you can add a bit more mayo or even mustard.  This is where I would add about 1/4 cup chopped celery and 1/4 cup chopped onion.  You can adjust and use all celery if you’re one of those weirdos who doesn’t like onions.  Pile on some toast and top with some lettuce or just eat with a spoon!

Here is the recipe, adopted from The Parsley Thief

Ingredients

  • 6 hard boiled eggs
  • 1/3 cup mayonnaise
  • 1/4 tsp ground pepper
  • 1/8 tsp curry powder
  • 1 tsp dry mustard (mixed with 1 tsp of water)
  • pinch of salt

Instructions

  1. Peel the eggs and separate the whites from the yolks.
  2. Mash the yolks with a fork, dice the whites, and them combine the two in a medium bowl
  3. In a separate bowl mix the mayonnaise, pepper, curry powder, mustard, and salt.
  4. Combine the mayonnaise mixture with the eggs and stir until combined
2 responses to “Egg-celent Egg Salad

Leave a Reply

