Tuscan Style Chicken Sandwiches

I wonder why it is that every time a recipe is supposed to be quick, it always takes me twice as long as it should.  If you’re good at multi-tasking, this meal will take you 15 minutes.  Me, on the other hand, took 45 minutes to get this meal on the table.  Sometimes I do one step of the recipe, then just kind of stand and stare at the recipe, or into space, thinking random thoughts.

The pesto mayonnaise is an essential flavor in this recipe so don’t skip it!  I used store-bought but obviously home-made would be ideal.  So if you have some leftover or if you’re an over-achiever, use home-made.

Artichokes: gross-looking, kind of looks like guts or ears or squid.  Very tasty though.  Tart and tangy and deelish.

I used focaccia bread but I don’t think I would use it again.  It was hard to take a bite since it was thick and didn’t squish down very good.  Next time, I would just use a regular bun and probably toast it so the cheese would get melty and gooey and the whole sandwich would be heated through.

I used spinach instead of mixed greens because I had it in the fridge and what are mixed greens anyway?

Try it, its super easy and quick.  Seen on Epicurious

Ingredients:

•    1/4 cup mayonnaise
•    4 teaspoons prepared pesto
•    2 4×4-inch squares focaccia or ciabatta
•    2 skinless boneless chicken breast halves
•    Olive oil
•    4 thin slices fresh mozzarella (I used shredded, because that’s what I had but next time I would use fresh)
•    2 canned artichoke hearts, drained, thinly sliced
•    1 plum tomato, thinly sliced
•    1 cup mixed baby greens/ spinach

Directions:

1. Prepare grill (medium-high heat). Combine mayonnaise and pesto in small bowl; whisk to blend.

2. Brush chicken lightly with oil; sprinkle with salt and pepper. Grill chicken until just cooked through, about 5 minutes per side. Transfer chicken to cutting board; cool slightly. Cut chicken on sharp diagonal into 1/2-inch-thick slices (I kept them whole instead of slicing them to keep the juices in)

3. Spread pesto mayonnaise onto cut surfaces of bread. Layer chicken, mozzarella, artichokes, greens, and tomato onto bottom halves. Top with bread tops. Yum!

2 responses to “Tuscan Style Chicken Sandwiches

Leave a Reply

